The Rajya Sabha Chairperson disallowed a notice by 46 Members and the Leader of Opposition on a no-confidence resolution against the Deputy Chairperson. It was not admitted on the grounds that the requisite notice period of 14 days was not met. This was followed by the suspension of 8 Members for one week for the remaining part of the current session under Rule 256. The Rule allows the Chairman to name a member who disregards the authority of the Chair or abuses the rules of the Council. 

The House adjourned multiple times amid disruptions, before adjourning for the day at 12 noon. Rajya Sabha was scheduled to take up the issue of non-payment of GST Compensation to states and 4 Bills were listed for consideration and passing, including the ECA Bill and the Banking Regulation (Amendment) Bill

In Lok Sabha, the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Amendment Bill, 2020 was discussed and passed. The Bill prohibits the transfer of foreign contribution by the recipient to anyone else and requires Aadhaar number for registration under the Act. 

Members pointed out that the mandatory Aadhaar requirement for registration goes against the Supreme Court judgement and that in the cases of voluntary surrender of FCRA registration, the Bill requires any asset built from the funds to be surrendered to a government agency. In his reply, the Minister of State for Home Affairs responded that the Bill complies with the SC judgement because Aadhaar is being made a basis for identification through this amendment to the law.

The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Second Amendment) Bill, 2020 was also discussed and passed. 

Discussion on the Epidemic Diseases (Amendment) Bill, 2020 was ongoing at the time of uploading this note.

Number to Note

19,000 cancellations

In its Statement of Objects and Reasons, the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Amendment Bill, 2020 states that the Central Government cancelled registration certificates of more than 19,000 recipient organisations, including non-Governmental organisations, during the period between 2011 and 2019. 

Subscribe for Parliament Diary