President Address

All executive power is vested in the President of India. The Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister aids and advises the President who exercises his powers in accordance to such advice.

Article 87 of the constitution provides two instances when the President specially addresses both Houses of Parliament. The President of India addresses both the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha at the beginning of the first Session after each general election when the reconstituted lower house meets for the first time. The President also addresses both the houses at beginning of the first session of each year.

The President’s speech essentially highlights the government’s policy priorities and plans for the upcoming year. The address provides a broad framework of the government’s agenda and direction.

List of All President Speeches

Ram Nath Kovind

2017 to 2022

Pranab Mukherjee

2012 to 2017

Pratibha Patil

2007 to 2012

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam

2002 to 2007

Kocheril Raman Narayanan

1997 to 2002

Shankar Dayal Sharma

1992 to 1997

Ramaswamy Venkataraman

1987 to 1992

Giani Zail Singh

1982 to 1987

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

1977 to 1982

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

1974 to 1977

Varahagiri Venkata Giri

1969 to 1974

Zakir Husain

1967 to 1969

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

1962 to 1967

Rajendra Prasad

1952 to 1962