Profile of the 15th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Vital Stats

Profile of the 15th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

The results of the elections to the 15th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly were declared today.  In this context, we analyse data on the profile of the incoming Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) and compare it with the outgoing Assembly.

In the incoming assembly, YSR Congress has the highest representation with 86% MLAs

  • In the newly elected Assembly, of the 175 elected members, 151 are from the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP).
  • The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has 23 members in the new Assembly (13%).

Average age of incoming Assembly has increased by two years; female MLAs have decreased by six

MLAs with post-graduate degrees have increased in the new Assembly

Sources: Election Commission of India (; Candidate Affidavits uploaded on ECI.


DISCLAIMER: This document is being furnished to you for your information.  You may choose to reproduce or redistribute this report for non-commercial purposes in part or in full to any other person with due acknowledgement of PRS Legislative Research (“PRS”).  The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of the author(s).  PRS makes every effort to use reliable and comprehensive information, but PRS does not represent that the contents of the report are accurate or complete.  PRS is an independent, not-for-profit group.  This document has been prepared without regard to the objectives or opinions of those who may receive it.