The 16th Lok Sabha elections will be held in the 7 Parliamentary Constituencies of the National Capital Territory of Delhi on April 10, 2014. As per the Election Commission, polling will be held at 11,763 polling stations spread across 2,534 polling station locations.

Many of the current MPs in Delhi have filed their nominations for the
upcoming elections. Some highlights of their performance in Parliament
are given below:

  • All 7 MPs from NCT of Delhi belong to the Indian National Congress.
  • Kapil Sibal and Krishna Tirath are Ministers. Ministers represent
    the government in debates, and they do not sign the attendance register,
    ask questions, or introduce private member bills. Ajay Maken was a
    Minister until 16th June, 2013.
  • While the national attendance average for MPs in Parliament is 76%,
    the average attendance for MPs from Delhi is 84%. Jai Prakash Agarwal,
    Mahabal Mishra, Ramesh Kumar and Sandeep Dikshit all have attendance
    percentages of over 90 percent.
  • Jai Prakash Agarwal has asked 898 Questions, while Mahabal Mishra
    has asked 318. Ramesh Kumar asked zero questions in the last five years
    while Sandeep Dikshit asked 2. The national average for Questions asked
    is 300.
  • Jai Prakash Agarwal participated in 85 debates in the last five
    years, while Mahabal Mishra participated in 31 and Sandeep Dikshit in
    16. The national average for debates spoken is 38.
  • Jai Prakash Agarwal was the only MP from Delhi to introduce any
    Private Member Bills. He introduced 23, while the national average is
Name Constituency Party Attendance Percent Debates Total Questions Asked Private Member Bills Note
Ajay Maken New Delhi Indian National Congress 37% 0 0 0 Participation details for this MP are available from 5th Aug, 2013 as he was a Minister till 16th June 2013
Jai Prakash Agarwal North East Delhi Indian National Congress 98% 85 898 23  
Kapil Sibal Chandni Chowk Indian National Congress N/A N/A N/A N/A MP is a Minister
Krishna Tirath North West Delhi Indian National Congress N/A N/A N/A N/A MP is a Minister
Mahabal Mishra West Delhi Indian National Congress 95% 31 318 0  
Ramesh Kumar South Delhi Indian National Congress 100% 0 0 0  
Sandeep Dikshit East Delhi Indian National Congress 91% 16 2 0  

Subscribe for Parliament Diary